The AP preseason women’s Top 25 released

The Associated Press preseason women’s Top 25 has been released recently. South Carolina has already accomplished so much by Dawn Staley.

The Gamecocks, who came second in the pre-season survey, in 2014 and 2015, finished last season at No. 1 for the first time. Staley is hopeful that this year’s team will get a chance to compete in the national basketball league after the cancellation of last season’s NCAA tournament due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Gamecocks’ number 2 winner was Stanford, who received another vote in the national media. It has been at the highest level for the Cardinals in the preseason since the 2009 season when the team was second only.

Conn, Baylor and Louisville combined the top five. It is the 14th year in a row that the Huskies have been placed in the top five in the preseason.

The state of Mississippi was six. Arizona was the seventh, for the first time since 2004, to have the Wildcats put on the pre-season voting list. North Carolina State, UCLA and Oregon have collected the top 10.

Northwestern has been placed in pre-season voting for the first time since 2015, entering No. 17. There is a lot of excitement about the program thanks to the official Lindsey Pulliam, who was the first team at the conference last year, and Junior Veronica Burton, the Chief Defender of the Year.

ACC has four, and Big East and Big 12 each have two. The Missouri Valley and West Coast Championships each have one program in the Top 25. It is the first time since 2015 that two top midfield teams have been shortlisted for pre-season polls. It was also the second time Gonzaga had been in the Top 25 before the season. The Zags were ranked 25th in the first poll in 2013.

Below is the full preseason Top 25:

  • South Carolina
  • Stanford
  • UConn
  • Baylor
  • Louisville
  • Mississippi State
  • Arizona
  • NC State
  • UCLA
  • Oregon
  • Kentucky
  • Maryland
  • Texas A&M
  • Arkansas
  • Iowa State
  • Indiana
  • Northwestern
  • Oregon State
  • DePaul
  • Ohio State
  • Gonzaga
  • Notre Dame
  • Syracuse
  • Missouri State
  • Michigan